Thursday, February 4, 2010

Doubts

Last few weeks i have been jobless having hours of thinking time. After watching countless debates on news channels about the current mumbai issue i was left with many unanswred questions. I hope to vent my irritation and hopefully you guys will be able to answer a few.
Before i start let me make it clear that i am a maharashtrian and an indian and have lots of non marathi friends so i m not taking sides anymore.

1) About the senas of mumbai

While i appreciate their concern for the marathi manoos, how correct is it to be violent against all the north indians that enter mumbai? After having lived in nagpur for over 4 years, i know for a fact that there are millions of non marathi people in the second capital. Why dont they start a similar campaign in nagpur? Because such a campaign will surely cost them votes there. Then isnt it hipocrisy on their part? Talking of hipocrisy, isnt their stand against australians hipocritic? Australians are taking te same stand that has been the senas long standing propoganda.
Infrastructure improvement in mumbai was certainly due to sena bjp govt, but when the city is facing acute water shortage are language squables the need of the hour?
Isnt it unpolitical and simply sad to say that rahul gandhi is making foolish statements because he is unmarrird and with age his frustration is increasing?
Why do they not do anything for the suicidal farmers, most of whom are marathi?
Most of their comments i found are baseless and have no logic whatsoever!


2) About the victimised north indians.

Is it correct on their part to practically 'invade' the beautiful city of mumbai? I have actually seen thousands of north indians swarm dadar tt early in the morning armed with large luggage and loads of stink. Most of these migrants dwell in the slums and help destroy the image of mumbai.
How right is it that these migrants take the benefit of slum rehab projects which are funded from the taxes which we mumbaikars give and when most migrants arent tax payers?
How right is it on their part to write quotes like '' UP Bihar hamari, ab mumbai ki bari!!!'' on our walls?
Is it wrong in asking the taxi and auto drivers to learn marathi? My garnny cant speak hindi, is she expected to scout for a marathi auto driver? Isnt it responsibility of the migrants in such a trade to learn the language? I have heard gujratis, punjabis sardarjis and even some biharis speak fluent marathi then why cant they all?
Bihar and UP are the states with the max number of IAS officers, why then are their states among the least developed?
Dont they feel insulted by these attacks? Why dont they just leave the city and show their oppressors that mumbai wont be the same without them?
Some polititians commented that the north indians have a lions share in the development of mumbai, why then is patna and kanpur not that developed? Ahemadabad, delhi, chandigarh, hyderabad, bengaluru, kolkatta, pune,cochin, jaipur... The list is huge... Are all quality cities in different states, why does patna refuse to be a part of this list, why wont they do something about it?
I have seen such north indians in mumbai and pune, but not in bengaluru or chennai, the reason to this affinity to maharashtra baffles me.


3) About cong and a certain gandhi

It felt strange hearing Mr. Gandhi's rally to support biharis in mumbai. Why this sudden love for the biharis? Where was he when north indians were beaten up over an year ago? The answer to this is simple. Last year when the biharis were being beaten it was election time in maharashtra and he didnt dare speak against the marathi manoos. Now on the other hand it is election time in bihar and soon in UP and hence the sudden support.
If he are so hell bent on one india and propogation of hindi why then does he ignore ban on teaching hindi in schools in TN? Isnt that regionalism ? Non violent but regionalism just the same.
The cong CM condenmed the senas threat to stop screening of srk's movie saying it is unconstitutional and that action will be taken. Where was this stand when his own revenue minister's supporters threatened 'zenda' in a similar fashion? They must ask themselves, are they any better than sena?
Why doesnt the government in power do something about cost inflation rather than fight against stupid non existent issues?



Also i seriously dont understand why the media publices this idiotic and selfish stand of all political parties and not concentrate on major issues. As i was writing this i heard on the news somewhere that pakistan pm just commented that india is public enemy number 1 and that something must be done to liberate j&k. But the media chose to only mention that once while covering rahul gandhi's visit to mumbai. Is trp and popularity more important that journalism and national security?


After thinking about all this, i cant make up my mind which major party to support
Shiv sena and mns who are trying to break my nation's unity?
Congress who as i have mentioned are no different
Ncp who broke from congress citing difference in opinion and then joined them in order to form govt
Bjp who are again breaking national unity with their hindutva


Certainly its a sad state of politics in india.